Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Vista: some issue because of Mac address is 0.

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Vista: some issue because of Mac address is 0.

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:21 pm

In a case, Vista can't join the domain or connectivity issue, check teh Mac adderss using ipconfig /all. Due to the hardware problem, the Mac Address may reset to 00-00-00-00-00-00 . To resolve the issue, please following steps:

In the Local Area Connection Properties --> Select "Configure" --> Advanced --> from the Properties select "Network Address" enable the Value and put any mac address like 09-00-34-60-EA-A8 then click OK. Run ipconfig/all and check if the MAC address changed.
Last edited by chicagotech on Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:11 am

Also check this post.

Vista: unidentified network
It is a bug in Vista. Vista does not preset a MAC address for the network card. As a result the network card identifies itself as: 00-00-00-00-00-00 ...
www.chicagotech.net/netforums/viewtopic ... d9fb0d00cc
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Vista "Unidentified Network" Problem Fixed

Postby HispaTex » Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:45 am

chicagotech wrote:In the Local Area Connection Properties --> Select "Configure" --> Advanced --> from the Properties select "Network Address"

I am running Windows Vista 64 Bit OEM, and "Network Address" is not listed anywhere under properties. Perhaps we are running different builds of Vista.

I did however find a solution that worked for me:

SOLUTION: Go to http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928233 and make only the registry modification described under "MORE INFORMATION". (Note: I did NOT make the first registry edit listed on that page, i.e. steps 1 through 7.)

MY STORY: I am running Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit OEM with all the latest patches that are current as of the time of this posting. My router is a Linksys WRTP54G-VR. The problem first materialized after I used the "Merge or delete network locations" feature to delete some unused network profiles. I then disconnected my Linksys router (only because I was needing to take it somewhere with me). Next, I had connected my cable modem directly into my PC. After re-booting my PC, Vista would not connect to the Internet, and "Local only" network access is all that would work.... Vista would not recognize my network profile by name, and instead would identify it as "Unidentified Network". The workaround solution I was using before I made the registry edit was simply to disable and then immediately re-enable my Local Area Network.

Good luck. A very simple solution to a problem that dogged me for a long time.
HispaTex
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:15 am


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests