Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Vista: Wireless local only

Wi-Fi, Mobile phone.

Vista: Wireless local only

Postby chicagotech » Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:56 pm

Some wireless NIC or router DHCP may be incompatibilities with Vista. The Vista may be able to access local network but the Internet and shows “Local only”.

Resolution: 1. Setup TCP/IP manually instead of using wireless router’s DHCP..
2. Disable wireless security and use Mac filter.
3. Disable IPv6.
4. Switch the security method between WEP and WPA

Vista: Common Problems with 802.11 Wireless
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=398

Losing wireless connection to network and internet
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=390

Vista: Wireless connectivity issue
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... .php?t=507
Last edited by chicagotech on Sun May 27, 2007 10:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:42 pm

Also, try to install MS Update of fixing the security, usability, and manageability improvements for Windows Vista wireless clients - http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:08 pm

I have been using wireless network fine until i tried to connect to a public
hotspot and it appears as local only, no internet connection. I tried it with
my mobile pc and WindowsXP and it works fine. I have checked this wireless
hotspot is 801b which is a legacy, could it be that vista wireless connection
software has a problem with legacy hotspots.

Akram,

If you change your battery setting to performance, instead of balanced, it
may correct that.
Some older AP's have issues with the wireless in Vista
chk this KB out:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928152

Jeff

I had the same problem, and as an old Networking hack, finally managed to get
it to work.

There are incompatabilities with Vista and some of the built-in DHCP servers
in routers. As a result, kiss off automatic assignment of network settings
for these routers (wireless or otherwise).

You will have to MANUALLY set your IP info, just like in the old days.
Unfortunately, that also means that you will have to CAN those adapter IP
setting when using true DHCP enabled routers that actually work.

Here is one solution that may work for SOME routers (but it does NOT work
for all of them!)

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928233/en-us

The reality is that as long as you can connect to the router (i.e. local
only connection) then the manual assignment of the IP info should get you
there.

Hi paulp,
Not sure if this will help you or not, we fixed our issue by loading the XP
wireless Driver over the Vista Driver. This at least worked for our 3Com
wireless campus when using the intel 3945ABG card.
Hope that leads you down at least a possible good road.

Jeremey
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Vista Local only

Postby Rickmann » Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:00 pm

After several attempts with "Local only/Unknown Internet" being displayed I did the following.
reloaded Vista Home Premium O/S,searched, and deleted any and all Wireless adapter references,same using REGEDIT. Re-installed LINKSYS adapter WUSB54G V.4 S/W, Connected the Adapter-and Voila-it works. Previously tried the IPV4/IPV4 recommended idea-No help. Hopefully it stays!!!!!
Rickmann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:51 pm

Postby chicagotech » Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:42 pm

Also check this post.

Fixing Vista local only by removing IPv6
http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... php?t=2621
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:52 pm

I had the same problem..

I solved the problem be disabling ip 6 and disabling Upnp on the router
configuration screen 192.168.1.1 and goto the Administration Tab on
click disable.

regards
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:37 am

thank you for sharing your experience with us. The other solution may be upgrade the NIC driver or router firmware.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com


"flamethrower" <guest> wrote in message news:aff90312b4b338ce83acf9a942101f89@nntp-gateway.com...
>
> Ok, so I have been over, under, and through every forum concerning this
> issue. Tried everything: resetting adapter, refreshing ipconfig,
> disconnected and restarted all equipment, reinstalled drivers, factory
> reset router. Nothing seemed to work, until I came across a post that
> said to set your ip address yourself. So here's what you do:
> 1.Go to network and sharing center (right click on your connection
> icon, lower right on screen, click network and sharing).
> 2.Click on Manage Network Connection to the right of this window
> 3.Now right click on the adapter you are trying to use and select
> properties.
> 4.Click on ipv4 Internet and click properties
> 5.Ok, so now you need your routers IP, you can get to this if you have
> access to the router. I have a netgear router and set the following:
> IP Address 192.168.1.3 (The reason the end is 3 is so it doesn't
> conflict with my other computer)
> Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
> Default Gateway 192.168.1.1
> Preferred DNS: 192.168.1.1
>
> I'm pretty sure these are the same for most routers, but I could be
> wrong. Double check by googling your router or just by accessing your
> router. i.e. for netgear, it is routerlogin.net.
>
> After you change all these things manually you should be up and ready
> to go.
>
> One more thing: PASS THIS ON. There are so many frustrated people in
> forums, and looking for a solution to this stupid Vista Problem(the
> people at microsoft should really fix this.
>
>
> --
> flamethrower
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:54 pm

So I restarted the router, and there was still local access only. So I
then right clicked on the wireless icon by the clock, and chose diagnose
and repair (this was the third time i've done this). Again it said,
something about "contact your system admin or if your at home trying
resetting the router and then click here". So I restarted the router
again, then I clicked where it said. All of a sudden I got a new screen
asking what type of access point it was: Home, Work, or something else
(i forgot sorry). So I chose home... and it worked! I was skeptic so I
restarted, and after the reboot it didn't look good, but bam! it
worked... I hate this operating system.

thanks for your advice Bob Lin.

Have you checked if there is a new firmware for the router or a new driver
for the NIC. Or this search result may help.

Vista Wireless Local onlySome wireless NIC or router DHCP may be
incompatibilities with Vista. The Vista may be able to access local network
but the Internet and shows "Local only". ...
www.chicagotech.net/wifimvp/vistawirlesslocaonly.htm


--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com


>
> Hi,
> I have a Sony Vaio VGN-FW370j which has worked flawlessly for the past
> 3 months I owned it. But now, I wake up and get ready to do some work on
> it, and the damn thing is local access only. I skyped with my dad last
> night, so I know it was working perfect before I went to bed. However, I
> believe I left it on so It might have updated something I am unaware of.
> I did a system restore back to 3 days ago.
>
> I have another laptop, a toshiba, and it can connect fine.
> I have hard reset my router (which usually fixes the connection
> problems). And I have also restarted the laptop, disabled and reenabled
> the wireless network connection, turned off and on the wlan switch on
> front.
>
> On my router their is no security set. Its just boot up and go. I sure
> also add that the Sony is Vista Home Premium 64bit, while the toshiba is
> Widows Vista Home Basic 32bit.
>
> I've ran out of ideas...
>
> thanks in advance and also for taking the time to read this.
>
>
> --
> icepot
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Vista: Wireless local only

Postby guest » Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:12 pm

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>I read through and tried everything in this post thread to fix the same issue
> on a friend's laptop. Unfortunately none of these suggestions worked. What
> finally worked for me was to remove Norton 360 using the Norton Removal Tool
> (http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/N ... 26173.html).
> Once that product was removed from the laptop, all networking issues were
> resolved. If you're still having an issue with this error in Vista, look at
> your Internet Security Software first and if removing that doesn't work then
> try the suggestions in this post.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 9578
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Vista: Wireless local only

Postby GaretJax » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:32 am

I also have a problem with my wireless card. What happened was that a couple of months ago, in July, it was working just fine. I was playing GTA San Andreas and decided to turn off the wireless. But what happened after that was that the wireless just STOPPED, if you know what I mean. Everytime I tried to connect after that, it just said local only. I even tried to put the ethernet cable from my router into my laptop, but even then, it just said local only.

My ISP Customer Service told me that its probably a virus, or there is something wrong with my card, but I don't believe it. How can the wireless work one day, and then completely stop the other. The router I use is 2wire, but even when I try to connect to other unsecure networks, the local only sign still appears, with no avail. I am running a Sony Vaio, if that will aid in the solution. Please help.
GaretJax
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:24 am

Re: Vista: Wireless local only

Postby chicagotech » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:43 am

Posting the result of ipconfig /all here may help.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6486
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Vista: Wireless local only

Postby GaretJax » Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:34 pm

Ok here it is... I hope you can help out, because everyone else couldn't, and I don't want to waste money on having analyzed and fixed something that I could have done myself. Here it is:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\sam>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928x Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E2-C9-75-BF
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.171.131(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-3D-EA-9C-1E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-BA-19-17-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 624:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 177:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 676:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 620:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 660:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 44:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.gateway.2wire.net
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 689:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{0CE3F284-CC68-4C72-8331-A02D79D67
862}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 694:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 664:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #20
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 696:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 683:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{FDC99B8B-9DF5-422A-9254-0BE8BAFC2
C8A}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 682:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B48AE009-6869-461C-A45D-56AB3B27B
88C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\sam>
GaretJax
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:24 am

Re: Vista: Wireless local only

Postby Arny » Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:56 am

It seems to me the wireless doesn't get IP from the DHCP. There are many reasons for that. Have you checked there are latest driver for NIC and firmware for the router? Also it could be the 3rd party issue. This post may help too.

Vista Wireless Local only
Some wireless NIC or router DHCP may be incompatibilities with Vista. The Vista may be able to access local network but the Internet and shows “Local only”. ...
http://www.chicagotech.net/wifimvp/vist ... caonly.htm
Arny
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Belarus


Return to Wireless

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest