Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Configure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Cisco Router, Firewall, VPN, SDM, ASA and Switch

Configure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:29 pm

We created NIC Teaming in Dell PowerEdge R710 server. The two NICs are connecting to the Cisco switch 3560G without any issues. If we unplug one cable, the server still works and connects to the network. Do we need to configure EtherChannel on those two ports.


Here are the current configuration.


interface GigabitEthernet0/16

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 200

switchport mode trunk spanning-tree portfast


interface GigabitEthernet0/17

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 200

switchport mode trunk spanning-tree portfast
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:29 pm

Is this a VM server? I ask because you have it encapsulation Dot1Q which would typically be used in a VM environment.


The only reason you might change the config on the switch is if you are going to do link aggregation with your load balancing.. If you are simply doing some server-side load balacing then this configuration will work. There should be no need to trunk, however, unless you are going to be running VM.


Hope that helps.


James
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:30 pm

I think it is good idea to put your ports in an Etherchannel. Etherchannel will provide load sharing of traffic among your 2 Gig links as well as redundancy if one if the Gig link fails.


HTH

Reza
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:30 pm

Forgot to mention. This is Windows 2008 server.


Reza, you raise a good question. After cerating the NIC teaming, the connection status shows 1GB only. We called Dell Tech support and asked if it should be 2GB. He said no. He said if someone told you NIC teaming would double the speed, that is misleading and matrketing only.


I would like to try EtherChannel, but I am not Cisco Engineer. Does our port configuration is fine? What commands do I add to the port configuration, if I want to try EtherChannel?


Thank you.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:31 pm

Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:31 pm

After I configured EtherChanel, the server can’t ping the network. I may not configure it correctly. Here are the port configuration and other information you may need.


switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 200

switchport mode trunk

channel-group 1 mode on

spanning-tree portfast


Switch#show etherchannel 1 summary

Flags: D - down P - in port-channel

I - stand-alone s - suspended

H - Hot-standby (LACP only)

R - Layer3 S - Layer2

U - in use f - failed to allocate aggregator

u - unsuitable for bundling

w - waiting to be aggregated

d - default port



Number of channel-groups in use: 1

Number of aggregators: 1


Group Port-channel Protocol Ports

------+-------------+-----------+---------------------------------------------

1 Po1(SU) - Gi0/11(P) Gi0/12(P)


Switch#show etherchannel load-balance

EtherChannel Load-Balancing Operational State

(src-mac):

Non-IP: Source MAC address

IPv4: Source MAC address

IPv6: Source IP address


Switch#sh int port-channel1

Port-channel1 is up, line protocol is up (connected)

Hardware is EtherChannel, address is 001c.f6e0.bb14 (bia 001c.f6e0.bb14)

MTU 1500 bytes, BW 4000000 Kbit, DLY 10 usec,

reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255

Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set

Full-duplex, 1000Mb/s, link type is auto, media type is unknown

input flow-control is off, output flow-control is unsupported

Members in this channel: Gi0/11 Gi0/12 Gi0/13 Gi0/20

ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00

Last input never, output 00:00:00, output hang never

Last clearing of "show interface" counters never

Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0

Queueing strategy: fifo

Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)

5 minute input rate 15000 bits/sec, 16 packets/sec

5 minute output rate 5033000 bits/sec, 12343 packets/sec

689522 packets input, 66899012 bytes, 0 no buffer

Received 44176 broadcasts (0 multicast)

0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles

0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored

0 watchdog, 31445 multicast, 0 pause input

0 input packets with dribble condition detected

94825011 packets output, 977292733 bytes, 0 underruns

0 output errors, 0 collisions, 3 interface resets

0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred

0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier, 0 PAUSE output

0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:31 pm

OK, I got the Dell engineer respond “I just checked with my NOS Analyst and we don’t support the Cisco Etherchannel. We do support LACP though”


After I configure LACP as shown below,

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 200

switchport mode trunk

channel-protocol lacp

channel-group 1 mode active

spanning-tree portfast


Those two ports are suspended with orange light on.


Here are more information.


interface Port-channel1

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport trunk native vlan 200

switchport mode trunk



Switch#show etherchannel 1 summary

Flags: D - down P - in port-channel

I - stand-alone s - suspended

H - Hot-standby (LACP only)

R - Layer3 S - Layer2

U - in use f - failed to allocate aggregator

u - unsuitable for bundling

w - waiting to be aggregated

d - default port



Number of channel-groups in use: 1

Number of aggregators: 1


Group Port-channel Protocol Ports

------+-------------+-----------+----------------------------

1 Po1(SD) LACP Gi0/11(s) Gi012(s)


Switch#show spanning-tree interface port-channel 1

no spanning tree info available for Port-channel1
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:33 pm

Hello,

>> Those two ports are suspended with orange light on.


this should happen because server NICs are not sending LACP frames, the switch after waiting some time put the port in suspended state.


to verify this you can use


sh log | inc %EC-5


you should see message like the following:


Mar 5 16:45:14: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface Gi6/7 left the port-channel Po3
Mar 5 16:45:14: %EC-5-UNBUNDLE: Interface Gi6/8 left the port-channel Po3
Mar 5 16:45:19: %EC-5-L3DONTBNDL2: Gi6/7 suspended: LACP currently not enabled on the remote port.
Mar 5 16:45:20: %EC-5-L3DONTBNDL2: Gi6/8 suspended: LACP currently not enabled on the remote port.


if you find similar messages, the key point is how to enable the server to start the LACP daemon on its NICs


Hope to help

Giuseppe
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:33 pm

The servers support LACP, so can you change channel-group 1 mode on to channel-group 1 mode active. Also on the server side do the same and make sure LACP is turned on. Did you also add the switchport mode trunk andswitchport trunk native vlan 200 to the physical ports as well?


HTH

Reza
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:34 pm

I re-created Teaming in Dell by selecting LACP. Now, I can access the network. But what? I don't see any different. Let me go back to my original question.


My original teaming on Dell was setup to use Smart Load Balance and Failover without adding channel-group 1 mode active. It works with 1 GB speed show up. Now I configured teaming uses LACP with channel-group mode active. The speed still shows 1GB.


1. Can I get double speed if I create NIC teaming? Or it just gives me failover?

2. If it does give me move speed, how can we know if the Dell connection shows 1GB. Or can we have some tools to test it?

3. What are differnt between load balance/failover and LACP? Or which is better?

4. If the LACP setting doesn't give me more speed, should we go back to the original configuration without LACP and channel-group 1 mode active?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:35 pm

Each individual NIC can only speak at 1Gbps so your connection "speed" will always show 1Gbps on the Dell. That is the physical connection speed. However, by using LACP you are actually rolling those two NIC cards together into a single pipe and therefore getting a full 2Gbps of throughput.


The cool think about LACP (and etherchannel for that matter) is that you get to Link Aggregate while at the same time employ redundancy. It kills the bandwidth bottleneck and the redundancy problem with one solution.


But yeah, don't expect to see your NIC speed show 2Gbps. Its a logical 2Gbps connection, not a physical one.


You would have to test it to prove it. Although I am sure that Dell already has a WhitePaper out there someone doing the testnig for you,


On a quick search I came across this document: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collate ... 443792.pdf where it says:


LACP based teaming extends the functionality by allowing the team to receive load-balanced traffic from the network. This requires that the switch can load balance the traffic across the ports connected to the server NIC team. LACP based load balancing is done on the L2 address. The team of NICs looks like a larger single NIC to the switch, much like an EtherChannel looks between switches. Redundancy is built into the protocol. The Cisco Catalyst Blade Switch 3130 supports the IEEE 802.3ad standard and Gigabit port channels. Servers can now operate in Active/Active configurations. This means that each server team can provide 2 Gigabit of Ethernet Connectivity to the Switching fabric. Failover mechanisms are automatically built into the LACP protocol. The pair of CBS3130s must be in the same ring for the server to support LACP connections. In other words, the server must see the same switch on both interfaces. Otherwise, the user most likely will use the SLB mode.


Hope that helps.

James
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:35 pm

James, Thank you forthe detail information. After reading your post, I decide to keep the LACP configuration. What are the disadvantages of using LACP?


This server is our GIS server running SQL. It comes with 4 NICs. Should I do one teaming with 4 NICs, but two conenct to a swicth and other two NICs conenct to another same Cisco swicth with the same port configuration?


We have a lot HP servers. When we create a NIC teaming with two NICs on the HP server, it always shows 2GB. But the Dell engineer said it is misleading or marketing. You won't get the 2GB.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby chicagotech » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:36 pm

I'd do all four NICs but it really depends on your network design.


If you trunk VLANs across two switches and the link between the switches is greater than 1Gbps, then I would set up the aggregation between all four NICs. If you just have two switches with a 1Gbps between them then maybe you do two different aggregations, one aggregation (two nics) per switch. Of course, if you have two different aggregations then you would need two different IP addresses (one per aggregation) and your application would need to know about both.


Again, the right answer depends on your design. If you can trunk the VLAN across two seperate switches at more than 1Gbps, then use all four. If you are limited to 1Gbps trunk then I would probably have two different aggregations and adjust the application accordingly.


James
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Confiure Cisco Switch for Dell NIC Teaming

Postby blin » Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:53 pm

If your swicth doesn't support LACP Link Aggregation (802.3ad), you should use SLB (Smart Load Balancing). In our company have Cisco 3560G swicth (stacking 2 or more switches) and simgle swicth 3750G. We would configure SLB on 3570G and LACP on 3560G. Note: LSB configuration limits one incoming.
How to Configure and Troubleshoot Cisco
http://www.howtocisco.com

Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com
blin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2650
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm
Location: Chicago, USA


Return to Cisco

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests