Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Frequently unable to get an IP via DHCP with Vista

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Frequently unable to get an IP via DHCP with Vista

Postby chicagotech » Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:14 am

Bingo... combination of the latest drivers and those two broadcast registry
tweaks fixed it for both the hardwired NIC and wireless NIC.

True test will be the hotel next week!
--
-AC [MVP MOSS]

"Barb Bowman" wrote:

> Intel 3945 ?
> have you tried newer/older drivers?
> http://support.us.dell.com/support/down ... eid=203417
>
> I've seen multiple complaints and issues with the 3945. Sometimes a
> different driver resolves issues.
>
> On Mon, 2 Jul 2007 04:28:03 -0700, AC [MVP MOSS]
> <swamplander> wrote:
>
> >Like I said, that works, but it completely not an option when you're in a
> >hotel/coffee shop. Pretty poor on Vista's if that's the only option availble
> >when all other clients have no problems.
> --
>
> Barb Bowman
> MS Windows-MVP
> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expe ... owman.mspx
> http://blogs.digitalmediaphile.com/barb/
>

If that doesn't work, you may want to use static IP instead of DHCP.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
"AC [MVP MOSS]" <swamplander> wrote in message news:33E664B0-43F1-4043-B3C7-E4A2054D51CA@microsoft.com...
Well, that KB helped, but no fix.

When I set it on my wireless NIC (along with the
DhcpConnForceBroadcastFlag=0 that was also present previously as =1), it was
able to get an IP, but not the DNS from my router (home network is setup to
use an internal DNS server that hands off unknowns to my ISP for some
internal stuff... works on all clients). Once i manually set the DNS, it
worked great (but obviously not ideal).

Unfortunately the wired NIC had no effect... kept ketting an internal
autoassigned IP (169...).

Any other ideas?

--
-AC [MVP MCMS]




"Robert L [MVP - Networking]" wrote:

> This post may help too,
>
> Vista: cannot obtain an IP address ...machines I have connected. Hi, I had exactly the same problem - have a look at: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928233/en-us Fixed it for me straight away! ...
> http://www.chicagotech.net/netforums/vi ... 6713d70efc
>
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> "AC [MVP MOSS]" <swamplander> wrote in message news:95E33539-476A-4227-8659-8848DBA4AABC@microsoft.com...
> My Vista Ultimate laptop is unable to get an IP via DHCP frequently... both
> with my home router and when on the road in hotels, coffee shops, etc. I am
> certain it's not the router for multiple reasons. My router issues IPs via
> DHCP to multiple clients (Windows 2003, Windows XPPro, Windows XP MCE,
> Windows 2000, Sony PSP, phones, Tivos... you name it) both physical or
> virtualized clients. The ~only~ one that has an issue is my Vista laptop. I
> have the same problem in MANY hotels, coffee shops, etc.
>
> I'm also fairly certain that it isn't hardware related. I ran WindowsXP on
> the same laptop (Dell Latitude D820) with no problems for months before
> switching to Vista. I can switch over to a virtual machine on the same laptop
> running Windows 2003 and it has no problems in obtaining an IP (at home,
> hotels, coffee shops). If I ever enter a static IP, it works instantly
> (hotel, home, coffee shop).. problem is most places won't do this for you...
> not to mention it's completely necessary.
>
> When I run a IPCONFIG /RENEW (or release followed by renew), here's what I
> get: "An error occurred while renewing interface Wireless Network Connection
> : unable to contact your DHCP server. Request has timed out."
>
> I'm lost. I'm running OneCare and have completely shut down the firewall...
> but I'm lost... any ideas?
>
> --
> -AC [MVP MCMS]
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:10 am

Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experince with us.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
"William" <wyum> wrote in message news:edon3em4HHA.4476@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
Like so many other people, this problem has plagued me for a quite a while. When
Vista came out I bought a new laptop. The first 3 months I used it wirelessly
thru a dLink router and although the laptop was on 24/7 my Internet connection
never skipped a beat. Then the trouble began when I moved to my summer residence
for the last 3 months where I use a Linksys wireless router and that's where my
problems began. I tried all the fixes that have been posted everywhere but to no
avail. Then I realized I forgot the most basic fix of all. I updated the Linksys
firmware to the most current and dated June 7, 2007 and voila... no more
intermittent Internet connections. So for those of you who haven't don that yet,
download the newest firmware, install it and you might get a surprise. Good
Luck! -Bill
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6481
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests