Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Added Windows 7 to domain and now have no admin privileges

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Added Windows 7 to domain and now have no admin privileges

Postby guest » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:15 pm

I have Windows 7 in a Microsoft Virtual PC session. Everything was fine until I added it to my company domain for testing. Now, I no longer have admin privileges and can't add users or change my own account to admin. Anyone know a backdoor way of logging in as administrator? I have tried to login to the local PC, but can't seem to get anything to work.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Added Windows 7 to domain and now have no admin privileges

Postby guest » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:15 pm

Have you contacted your domain admins if they have Domain GPOs that restrict the use of local accounts on the computers joined to the domain? If so, the only thing you can do is to ask them for local admin permissions for your domain account, because by default only Domain Admins are local admins of the computers they log in.
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest