Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Windows 7 network Problem

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:41 pm

I did a clean install of Windows 7 on a HP 5850 computer. It picked up my wired and wireless router, printer and all other workstations. My cable connection to the internet worked. Everything worked correctly. I removed the wireless router for another project. Now Windows 7 will not connect to anything. It stays in local mode and tells me I have an unidentified public network. I have tried everything I can think of to fix the problem, no luck. when I try to create a new connection to the internet the only options I receive are dial up or PPOE. No cable broadband connection available. Help!!
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:41 pm

I think you have pointed out the problem. I would do another "route print" to see where the box thinks it should go to get out to the world and any local nets.
I think he has a bad route that was left over from when the wireless AP was in the mix, or the AP was in 'more than AP mode' before it was removed. If the AP was handing out IP addresses rather than the wired router handling DHCP, when it was removed, the unexpired lease could leave the box in limbo. It 'grew up' knowing itself to be on a specific network, and needs all those entries removed from the registry. Good luck with that...

To make things work, right now, without problems, set the IP manually for the NIC.
The ipconfig output showed:
NIC at: 169.254.106.210
Gateway at :192.168.0.10
DNS at : 192.168.0.75

Your box (NIC) is not on the same net as everything else. It is not seeing the router, and Autoconfig is sending it off to 169.254 land...
If you manually set the IP to 192.168.0.xx, it should work.

Please show all work when you turn in your assignment... i.e. do a 'route print' and an 'ipconfig' & cut'n'paste output ...

If you look at the 2nd to the last para of <a href="http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc779122.aspx">The IP routing table: TCP/IP </a> you will maybe understand why your computer sees bupkus.

You can do a 'route delete' to get rid of any 169.254.x.x stuff. And anything that is not on the same network as your NIC. You can do the "route –p add 0.0.0.0 [IP address of the wired router]"
as Mr X said, but put in the IP address you MANUALLY assign to the card.

In short, clean up the route table, assign an IP manually, and add a manual route to the route table to match the NIC IP.
tom
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:42 pm

I suspect that the gateway it currently connects is incorrect. Please run the ipconfig /all and check if the Default Gateway is the router it connects right now.

Also, please enter the following command in command prompt with administrator privilege.

route print > %userprofile%\Desktop\routetable.txt.

Then open the generated file routetable.txt on Desktop, and copy the contents into your post.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Arthur Xie - MSFT
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:42 pm

Routetable listing Hope this helps
===========================================================================
Interface List
11...00 21 85 cd b3 6e ......Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
12...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
169.254.0.0 255.255.0.0 On-link 169.254.190.220 276
169.254.190.220 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.190.220 276
169.254.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.190.220 276
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 169.254.190.220 276
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.190.220 276
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
None

IPv6 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
If Metric Network Destination Gateway
1 306 ::1/128 On-link
11 276 fe80::/64 On-link
11 276 fe80::dcc9:f743:26d7:bedc/128
On-link
1 306 ff00::/8 On-link
11 276 ff00::/8 On-link
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
None
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:43 pm

hi
i had similar problem
this is what worked for me
disable IPv6

Open Network and Sharing center
on left click "Change Adapter Setting"
right click "Local Area Connection" and click "Properties"
now
uncheck these boxes
Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPv6)
Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper I/O Driver
Link-Layer Topology Discovery Mapper Responder

how that works for you
and hope it keeps working for me
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Windows 7 network Problem

Postby guest » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:44 pm

From the route table I can find that the default gateway route is missing. I suspect that the route for the wired router has been deleted because you need to set the wireless router to be the default gateway.

Please follow the steps below to manually add routes for the wired router.

route –p add 0.0.0.0 [IP address of the wired router]

Next time, if you disconnect the wired router and connect to the wireless one, if the network does not work again, please use the following command to delete the route for the wired router.

route –p delete 0.0.0.0 [IP address of the wired router]

Please note that we need to run the above commands in Command Prompt with administrator privilege.

The following articles may be helpful.

Default Gateway Configuration for Multihomed Computers

The IP routing table: TCP/IP


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Arthur Xie - MSFT
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests