Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Create HA storage for cluster using WSS 2008

Active Directory, Domain, DNS, WINS, DHCP, SBS, New Releases.

Create HA storage for cluster using WSS 2008

Postby guest » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:51 am

I am looking for a solution that would allow me to create a clustered WSS 2008 which would provide HA storage to other Windows clusters (say an SQL server cluster).

I understand (or at the very least guess) that there is no "built-in" solution to replicate the files between the WSS machines forming my cluster and as such no obvious way to povide HA storage "out of the box".

Is there any advisable third party product that wuld allow be to do that ?
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Create HA storage for cluster using WSS 2008

Postby guest » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:51 am

Hi,



It seems that you want to create a cluster for iSCSI Target. If so, you can check the following guides.



Configuring iSCSI Storage for High Availability

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx



Failover Clustering Support (Enterprise Edition Only)

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/libr ... 10%29.aspx





Best Regards,

Vincent Hu
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Create HA storage for cluster using WSS 2008

Postby guest » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:52 am

You really have to consider what you are doing when you start building iSCSI targets for HA clusters. The whole reason you build a cluster is to eliminate downtime...correct? Well, if you base your cluster storage on a server that running Windows, has no real redundancy other than what comes in the server (RAID, Power Supplies, etc), then you really have only moved your single point of failure from your clustered servers down to the storage array.

It is great for a lab, but if you are deploying clusters for increased availablilty you have to make sure your storage is more reliable than the servers you are protecting otherwise you are going through a lot of hassle for no increase in avaibility.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
David A. Bermingham, MVP, Senior Technical Evangelist, SIOS Technology Corp
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm

Re: Create HA storage for cluster using WSS 2008

Postby guest » Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:52 am

You cannot do it with Microsoft... OK, you can cluster two MS targets but 1) you'll end with an ancient low performance active-passive model and (the most important one!) 2) you'll still need shared storage for quorum etc. So you'll end with increased I/O path (higher latency and less bandwidth) and you'll still have SPOF (single point of failure) your shared storage itself. Check this blog guy had did exactly what you want:

http://techontip.wordpress.com/2011/05/ ... lkthrough/

Unfortunately situation did not change much with Windows 8. Please check this link (you'd better watch all the video but make sure you do sharpen your attention on 42:00 when demo runs). See cross-linked SAS boxes at the bottom and file servers in the middle? Replace file servers with iSCSI targets and that's what you want to do. However I would not call this solution cost-effective, reliable and high performance (b/c of the long I/O path):

http://channel9.msdn.com/Events/BUILD/B ... 1/SAC-451T

However as I've told I consider this approach a wrong way to go. Give a try to something like StarWind iSCSI SAN or DataCore SANsymphony. They can both do active-active cluster that does not require shared storage to run as they cross-feed DAS to each of their nodes.

http://www.starwindsoftware.com/starwind

and

http://www.datacore.com/Software/Produc ... ony-V.aspx

Hope this helped :)
Tablet and Smartphone Setup Guide
http://www.quicksetupguide.com

Troubleshooting Vista Wireless
http://chicagotech.net/
guest
 
Posts: 10191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:10 pm


Return to Windows

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 9 guests