Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Your credentials did not work in RD services

RRAS, VPN, TS/RDP, Routing and remote Access.

Your credentials did not work in RD services

Postby chicagotech » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:39 pm

I am configuring RD Services for Remote Desktop Connection load balance. Here are the settings:

License server: DC03

RD Connection Broker servers: broker01 and rdwa01

RD Web Access server: rdwa01

RD Gateway: Gateway01

Session Host Servers: remote3 and remote4

SQL 2016: broker01 and rdwa01

DNS Round Robin for Session Host Servers (remote3 and remoet4): HSARDS

All server are Windows 2012 R2.

I think DNS Round Robin for Session Host Servers works because I can login to hsards using Remote Desktop Conenction.

However, I go to http://rdwa01/rdweb, click on Remote Desktop Connection, then login hsards, I get "Your credentials did not work ", "The credentials that were used to conenct to hsards did not work", "The logon attempt failed"

I thought it could be the RD Gateway issue. I have double check the Connection Authorization Policies and Resource Authorization Policies. I can't find anything wrong.

Please help me to fix this problem.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Your credentials did not work in RD services

Postby chicagotech » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:40 pm

The credentials that were used to connect to hsards did not work

hsards is the round robin name for the session host.

Based on my research, for such authentication in RDS, we can try the following PS cmdlet to see if it helps.

Set-RDSessionCollectionConfiguration -CollectionName "QuickSessionCollection" -CustomRdpProperty "enablecredsspsupport:i:0" -ConnectionBroker "eval-rds12-2.52puppy.com.local"

Note: please subscribe the italic parts with your actual server/collection name.

Also, for the deployment, the current configuration is as below:

gateway01: rd gateway

remote3: rd session host

remote4: rd session host

rdwa01: rd web access, rd connection broker, sql2016

broker01: rd connection broker, sql 2016

Per my personal experience, we can move the rd web access role to gateway01 as following so that the deployment design is more clear.

gateway01: rd gateway, rd web access

remote3: rd session host

remote4: rd session host

rdwa01: rd connection broker, sql2016

broker01: rd connection broker, sql 2016
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Your credentials did not work in RD services

Postby chicagotech » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:43 pm

Set-RDSessionCollectionConfiguration -CollectionName "QuickSessionCollection" -CustomRdpProperty "enablecredsspsupport:i:0" -ConnectionBroker "eval-rds12-2.52puppy.com.local" works without any errors.

What could be the problem?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Your credentials did not work in RD services

Postby chicagotech » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:48 pm

Perhaps, I misunderstand how to use Remote Desktop Connection under RDS. If I create Remote Desktop Connection under RemoteApp Programs, I can't access HSARDS (DNS Round Robin for Session Host Servers) with the message I mentioned.
Image

If I click Connect to a remote PC and enter HSARDS, I can login the remote3 or remote4. Image

So I think we should use Connect to a remote PC instead of using Remoteapp. If so, I don't need to create Remote Desktop Connection under remoteadd. Am I right?
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Re: Your credentials did not work in RD services

Postby chicagotech » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:48 pm

Yes, your current understanding is correct. If we want to connect to a remote PC with RD Web, we recommend you use the Connect to a remote PC tab since the RDC RemoteApp Program often produce issues.
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6995
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to VPN, TS and Remote Access

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests