Home | Site Map | Cisco How ToNet How To | Wireless |Search | Forums | Services | Donations | Careers | About Us | Contact Us|

Not accessible: not have permission to use network resource

Network Sharing , TCP/IP, Internet, Wireless, Exchange, IIS, ISA and Print

Not accessible: not have permission to use network resource

Postby chicagotech » Sun Oct 12, 2008 11:12 am

Thank you for the update.

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com

>> You may want to modify IRPStackSize. This search result may help.
>> Not Enough ...
>> "Not enough server storage is available to process this command." 1
>> "Not enough storage available to process this command" 2 "Not enough
>> storage to Complete ...
>> www.chicagotech.net/notenough.htm
>>
>>
> I did a bit more research and found that the IRPStackSize has to be
> changed on the host computer, not the client. Additionally, it was not
> clear where to add the value, but after some fiddling, it all went well.
> I should say that none of my computers had that value, so I put in the
> default value for the others.
>
> Thanks,
> Ken K

I have a home LAN with 2 desktops and 2 laptops, all running XP Pro
except one, computer J-Desktop, which runs XP Home. They run as a
workgroup, HOME, with a router which assigns addresses through DHCP. All
run ZoneAlarm configured to allow the network in the Trusted Zone.

All computers have all drives shared. All computers see one another and
can share files except computer J-Desktop and one of the other
computers, K-Desktop. K-Desktop can see and access J-Desktop, but
J-Desktop can only see K-desktop, but when access is attempted, the
following error message is displayed:

<<<<Error>>>>

This happens whether the firewall is up or not. Again, J-Desktop can
work with files on the other two computers, J-laptop and D-laptop.

Where can I look other than the Sharing tab for each drive on K-Desktop
to figure out why J-Desktop cannot share the K-Desktop drives?

Thanks
KK
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7146
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA

Postby chicagotech » Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:51 pm

Quoted from How to increase IRPStackSize - www.howtonetworking.com/winissues/irpstacksize.htm

"It is recommended that you increase the value by 3. Therefore, if the previous value was 11, type 14, and then click OK".

--
Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on
http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on
http://www.HowToNetworking.com

> Robert L. (MS-MVP) wrote:
>> Thank you for the update.
>
> Mr. Lee,
>
> Do you have any idea how much of the available resources are taken up by
> tweaking the of the stacks from, say, 12 to double at 24? I am just
> wondering whether it isn't worth keeping the number at 24 or 36 or 50...
>
> Thanks
> Ken K
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
How to Setup Windows, Network, VPN & Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
chicagotech
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7146
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:24 pm
Location: Chicago USA


Return to Networking

Your Ad Here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests